Do You Need a Boating License? Boater Safety Course Rules in All 50 States (2026)

Short answer

  • Most states don’t issue a boating license. They require a one-time boater education card or certificate, and only for some operators. Alabama is the exception: it issues a vessel operator’s license through its driver license offices (ALEA).
  • 45 states and DC require it for at least some operators. Alaska, Idaho, South Dakota and Wyoming have no general requirement, and we found none in Arizona’s statutes.
  • The trigger is usually your birth date and the motor’s horsepower. Florida, for example, covers anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 on a motor of 10 hp or more (Florida Statutes 327.395).
  • Online courses count in most states, and the agencies of 21 states and DC list a free option. Connecticut doesn’t accept self-paced online courses.
  • The card is valid for life in every state that says how long it lasts.
  • Rules are still changing: Missouri on January 1, 2027, Minnesota in yearly steps until July 1, 2028, Massachusetts for everyone by April 1, 2028.

“Boating license” is what most people search for, but it’s rarely what the law asks for. Almost every state wants proof that you passed a boater safety course, and whether you need it depends on your age, your birth year and the boat. The national reference table from NASBLA, the association of state boating law administrators, is dated: it says it was “believed current as of 01/01/2016” (NASBLA). Since then California, New York, South Carolina, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota and Missouri have changed their rules. This page checks every state against the state agency or the state law. We checked them on September 25, 2026.

License or card: what states actually issue

  • A boater education card or certificate is what nearly every state issues after you pass an approved course. You carry it on board, like a hunter education card.
  • Alabama issues a vessel operator’s license through the Department of Public Safety driver license offices, with a $5 application fee and a written or oral exam that a course certificate can replace (ALEA).
  • New Jersey requires a Boating Safety Certificate for all power vessel operators and, on non-tidal waters, an additional $18 boat license from the Motor Vehicle Commission (NJ MVC).
  • Indiana ties the rule to your driver’s license: operators of motorboats over 10 hp who don’t hold a valid driver’s license must be at least 15 and pass a course (Indiana DNR FAQ).

So when a state page or a course provider says “boating license,” it almost always means the education card.

Boating license requirements by state

Jump to: Northeast · Midwest · South · West

Each state name links to the agency page or the statute we used. “Free option” means the state agency itself lists a free course or class; paid online courses we saw listed cost roughly $20 to $80. † Agency page couldn’t be loaded for our check; the rule comes from the agency’s text as indexed by search engines or from state law, and will be rechecked.

Northeast

StateWho needs a boater cardOnline courseFree option
ConnecticutEveryone operating a motorboat or a sailboat 19.5 ft or longer (residents, CT property owners, CT-registered boats); PWC operators need a separate certificateNo self-paced course; instructor-led class or $75 equivalency examNo
MaineBorn on or after Jan 1, 1999, on motorboats over 25 hp (age 12+); PWC operators must be 16+YesYes (BoatUS Foundation, $10 donation requested)
MassachusettsAll motorboat operators, phased in: born after Jan 1, 1989 since April 1, 2026; everyone by April 1, 2028YesYes (in-person classes)
New HampshireAnyone 16 or older on a motorboat over 25 hpYes; under 18, the final exam is in personNo ($10 certificate fee)
New JerseyEveryone operating a power vessel or PWC (minimum age 16)Yes, with a proctored examNo
New YorkEvery operator of a motorized boat or PWC, any age (Brianna’s Law)YesSome volunteer classes are free
PennsylvaniaBorn on or after Jan 1, 1982, on motors over 25 hp; all PWC operatorsYesLow cost: $17 online course
Rhode IslandBorn on or after Jan 1, 1986, on motors over 10 hp; all PWC operatorsYes, with a proctored examNot stated
VermontBorn after Jan 1, 1974, on any motorboat (age 12+)Only for residents who can’t attend a classroom courseNot stated

Midwest

StateWho needs a boater cardOnline courseFree option
IllinoisBorn on or after Jan 1, 1998, on motors over 10 hp, including PWCYesYes (instructor-led course)
IndianaOperators without a valid driver’s license on motors over 10 hp (must be 15+)YesNot stated
IowaAges 12 to 17 on motors over 10 hp or PWC, unless an experienced adult is aboardYesYes (BoatUS Foundation)
KansasBorn on or after Jan 1, 1989; operators 21 and older are exemptYesNot stated
MichiganBorn on or after July 1, 1996 (separate age limits apply)YesNot stated
MinnesotaPWC and motors over 25 hp, phased in: born on or after July 1, 2000 since July 1, 2026; later birth years added until July 1, 2028YesNo ($34.95 state-named online course)
MissouriBorn after Jan 1, 1984 (and before 2006), on lakes; from Jan 1, 2027, everyone born on or after Jan 1, 2006, on all watersYesYes (Water Patrol classroom course)
NebraskaBorn after Dec 31, 1985, on any motorboat or PWC (age 14+)Yes ($44.95); classroom or home study with a proctored exam, $10No
North DakotaOnly ages 12 to 15 who operate a 10 hp+ boat or PWC aloneYesYes (home-study course)
OhioBorn on or after Jan 1, 1982, on motors over 10 hp (also applies to a supervising adult)Yes, or a proficiency examYes (ODNR: options start at free)
South DakotaNo requirement (age limits apply)VoluntaryCourse listed by the state
WisconsinBorn on or after Jan 1, 1989, on any motorboat or PWCYes ($50.95 to $60.95)No ($10 classroom course)

South

StateWho needs a boater cardOnline courseFree option
AlabamaAnyone operating a motorized boat or PWC needs a vessel operator’s license (age 12+; ages 12 and 13 only with a licensed adult 21+ aboard)A course certificate can replace the license examNo ($5 application fee)
ArkansasBorn on or after Jan 1, 1986, on a motorboat, PWC or sailboatYesYes (in-person classes)
DelawareBorn on or after Jan 1, 1978, on any motorized boat, including PWCYesNot stated
District of ColumbiaAnyone operating a vessel on DC waterwaysNot stated by the police Harbor PatrolYes (one-day Harbor Patrol course)
FloridaBorn on or after Jan 1, 1988, on motors of 10 hp or moreYesNot confirmed
GeorgiaBorn on or after Jan 1, 1998, on any motorized boat, including PWCYesYes (BoatUS Foundation, DNR classes)
KentuckyAges 12 to 17 on PWC or motors over 10 hp, unless an adult is aboardYesNot stated
LouisianaBorn after Jan 1, 1984, on motors over 10 hpYesYes (BoatUS Foundation)
MarylandBorn on or after July 1, 1972, on any motorized boatYesNot stated
MississippiBorn after June 30, 1980, on any boat or PWCYesYes (BoatUS Foundation, state classes)
North CarolinaBorn on or after Jan 1, 1988, on motors of 10 hp or moreYesNot stated
OklahomaOnly ages 12 to 15 (motors over 10 hp, sailboats 16 ft+, PWC)YesYes (Highway Patrol classroom course)
South CarolinaBorn after July 1, 2007, on 10 hp or more, including PWCYesYes (BoatUS Foundation, SCDNR classes)
Tennessee †Born after Jan 1, 1989, on motors over 8.5 hpStudy online, then a proctored state examNo ($10 exam permit)
TexasBorn on or after Sept 1, 1993, on PWC, motors over 15 hp or sailboats over 14 ftYesLow cost: $11 total
VirginiaEveryone on motorboats of 10 hp or more; all PWC operators 14+YesYes (state course, BoatUS Foundation)
West VirginiaBorn on or after Dec 31, 1986, on any motorboat or PWCYesYes (BoatUS Foundation, DNR classes)

West

StateWho needs a boater cardOnline courseFree option
AlaskaNo requirement (voluntary)VoluntaryYes (state course)
Arizona †No statewide requirement found in state lawVoluntaryNot confirmed
CaliforniaEvery operator of a motorized boat, any age, since Jan 1, 2025YesNo ($10 state card)
ColoradoAges 14 to 17 on any motorboat or PWCYesNot stated
HawaiiVessel operators on state ocean waters must carry proof of a boating safety courseYesYes (BoatUS Foundation)
IdahoNo general requirement (PWC renters and some boating offenders only)VoluntaryYes (BoatUS Foundation, state classes)
MontanaOnly ages 13 and 14 on motors over 10 hp, unless an adult is aboardYesYes (BoatUS Foundation)
NevadaBorn on or after Jan 1, 1983, on motors over 15 hp on interstate waters such as Lake Mead and Lake TahoeYesNot stated
New MexicoBorn on or after Jan 1, 1989, on any motorboat (gas or electric) or sailboatYesYes (BoatUS Foundation)
OregonEveryone 16 or older on powerboats over 10 hpYesNo ($20 state card)
UtahOnly PWC operators aged 12 to 17YesYes (BoatUS Foundation)
WashingtonBorn after Jan 1, 1955, on motors of 15 hp or more (age 12+)YesFree course plus $10 card
WyomingNo requirement (operators under 16 must be supervised)VoluntaryNot stated

What it costs

The course is the main cost, and in many states it can be free. On top of that, some states charge their own fee for the card:

StateState feeSource
Connecticut$50 one-time Safe Boating CertificateCT DEEP
Oregon$20 cardOregon State Marine Board
California$10 card, valid for lifeCalifornia State Parks
Pennsylvania$10 certificatePFBC
Washington$10 cardWashington State Parks
Texas$10, included in every course priceTPWD
Iowa$5 on paid online coursesIowa DNR
Alabama$5 license applicationALEA

The cheapest complete routes we found: a free course listed by the state agency in 21 states and DC, Texas at $11 including the state fee (TPWD), Washington at $10.50 for the card after a free course (Washington State Parks), and Pennsylvania’s $17 online course (PFBC, December 2024).

Rules changing in 2026 to 2028

DateStateWhat changesSource
Already in effectCaliforniaEvery motorized-boat operator, any age, since Jan 1, 2025California State Parks
Already in effectNew YorkEvery motorized-boat and PWC operator (Brianna’s Law)NY State Parks
Already in effectMaineBorn on or after Jan 1, 1999, over 25 hpMaine IFW
Already in effectSouth CarolinaBorn after July 1, 2007, 10 hp or more (Act 74 of 2023)SCDNR
Already in effectAlabamaNonresidents need a home-state certification or an Alabama nonresident one, since Oct 1, 2024ALEA
April 1, 2026 to April 1, 2028MassachusettsBorn after Jan 1, 1989 from April 1, 2026; everyone by April 1, 2028Mass. Environmental Police
January 1, 2027MissouriEveryone born on or after Jan 1, 2006, on all waters, not only lakesRSMo 306.127
July 1, 2027MinnesotaAdds operators born on or after July 1, 1996Minn. Stat. 86B.30
July 1, 2028MinnesotaAdds operators born on or after July 1, 1987Minn. Stat. 86B.30

Renting a boat

Many states don’t require a card for rentals, or let the rental business issue a short-term certificate. Four examples:

  • New York: renters 18 and older can take out a motorboat or PWC from a livery without a certificate after the livery’s instruction; renters under 18 need a certificate (NY State Parks).
  • California: operators of rental boats are exempt from the Boater Card (California State Parks).
  • Florida: a temporary certificate from a state-approved exam is valid for 90 days (F.S. 327.395).
  • Missouri: rental businesses can issue a temporary card for up to seven days for $9, once per person (RSMo 306.127).

Visiting or moving to another state

Courses approved by NASBLA meet a national standard, and most states accept a card from another state when you’re visiting. Florida, for example, exempts nonresidents who carry photo ID and proof of a NASBLA-standard course from their home state (F.S. 327.395). Rules for longer stays are stricter in some states: Connecticut requires its own certificate if you boat there more than 60 days a year (CT DEEP). Check the state’s page in the table above before a long stay or a move.

How we built this table

We started from NASBLA’s mandatory education table, which NASBLA itself describes as current as of January 1, 2016, and replaced every entry with what the state boating agency or the state statute says today. Where an agency site blocked automated access, we used the statute (Florida, Missouri, Minnesota, Utah, Tennessee, Rhode Island). Rules marked † will be rechecked in a regular browser. Like our Certification Cost Index, every row links to its source, and we update the table when a state changes its rules. The full dataset, with the source for each field, is kept on file and was checked on September 25, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a license to drive a boat?

In most states you need a boater education card, not a license, and only if you fall under the state’s age or birth-year rule. Alabama is the main exception with a vessel operator’s license. Alaska, Idaho, South Dakota and Wyoming have no general requirement.

How long does a boater safety course take?

Most courses take a few hours. Maine, for example, says its in-person and online courses take about six hours (Maine IFW).

Is there a free boater safety course?

Yes, in 21 states and DC the agency lists a free option, often the BoatUS Foundation’s online course or a free state class. Some states still charge a card fee, such as California ($10) or Oregon ($20).

Do you need a boating license to rent a boat?

It depends on the state. New York lets renters 18 and older rent without a certificate after instruction, California exempts rental operators, and Missouri lets rental businesses issue a seven-day temporary card.

Does a boater education card expire?

Not in any state that says how long it lasts; California, Florida, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia and Washington, among others, state that it’s valid for life.

Do I need a boater card for a jet ski?

Often yes, and sometimes the rules are stricter than for motorboats. Pennsylvania and Rhode Island cover every PWC operator regardless of age, and Utah’s only requirement is for PWC operators aged 12 to 17.


How we checked these facts. Every rule links to the state agency or the state statute, checked on September 25, 2026. Course prices come from the state agency or, where noted, the provider’s page. Certificate Quest is not affiliated with any state agency, NASBLA or course provider and earns nothing from links on this page.

Choose your next step

Browse Licenses & safety certificates

Sources, update policy & corrections