Short answer
- 32 states let at least some students finish hunter education entirely online. The other 18 require an in-person part: a field day, a range day, live fire or a proctored test.
- Age is the usual cutoff. In eight states the online-only route starts at 18, in six at 16, and in Texas at 17. Younger students add a field day.
- Eight states limit the online-only course to their own residents: Arizona, Georgia, Hawaii, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Vermont and Virginia.
- California no longer offers an online-only course (CDFW), and Wyoming says it has never offered one (WGFD).
- Free is common: half the state agencies list a free course or class, usually the in-person class, and some list a free online course, such as Louisiana, Kansas (residents 18+) and New Jersey.
- You can often hunt before you finish. Many states sell an apprentice license or a one-time deferral if you hunt with a licensed mentor.
Online hunter education courses are sold for every state, but buying one doesn’t always get you a certificate. In many states the online course is only the classroom part, and you still have to show up for a field day before the card is issued. Whether the online course is enough depends on your state, your age and sometimes where you live. We checked every state against its wildlife agency or its law on September 25, 2026.
Online, hybrid or in person: the three formats
- Fully online. You study, pass the final exam online and print your card. In some states the course includes a “virtual field day,” as in Minnesota’s course for students 16 and older (Minnesota DNR).
- Hybrid (online plus field day). You do the classroom part online, then attend a few hours in person for safe gun handling, often live fire, and the final test. Washington calls it a Field Skills Evaluation (WDFW), Nebraska a two-hour Hunt Safe Session (Nebraska Game and Parks).
- Traditional. The whole course is taught in a classroom and in the field, usually over one or two days, and in many states it is free.
Some states write the in-person part into law. Delaware requires every basic hunter education student to take part in live firing with a trained instructor (DNREC), and Kentucky’s regulation requires a live fire exercise unless you serve or served in the U.S. Armed Forces or are a Kentucky peace officer (301 KAR 2:185).
Hunter safety course online: rules by state
Jump to: Northeast · Midwest · South · West
Each state name links to the agency page or the law we used. “Fully online” means the agency accepts an online course without any in-person part. “Free option” means the agency itself lists a free course or class. Paid online courses we saw listed cost roughly $20 to $50. † The agency page couldn’t be loaded for our check, and only the approved course provider describes the online format; we’ll recheck it.
Northeast
| State | Who must take it | Fully online | Free option |
|---|---|---|---|
| Connecticut | Anyone getting a first license who hasn’t held a resident license in that discipline in the last 5 years | No: online study plus a full in-person day | Not stated |
| Maine | Anyone buying a first adult firearms license who hasn’t held one in any year since 1976 | 16+ ($29.95) | Yes (in-person courses usually free) |
| Massachusetts | Adults 18+ buying a first-ever license, unless they hold a certificate from anywhere or a license from before 2007 | No: blended course with one field day | Yes (all classes free) |
| New Hampshire | Anyone buying a first hunting or archery license of that type | No: online ($29) plus field day, age 12+ | Not stated |
| New Jersey | Anyone buying a first firearm or bow license without a hunter education card | No: free online course plus a live fire range session | Yes (online course) |
| New York | Anyone buying a license without a hunter education certificate | Residents 11+ | Yes (in-person courses) |
| Pennsylvania | All first-time hunters, any age | Residents 11+ | Yes (in-person course, 11+) |
| Rhode Island | Anyone buying a first license, unless they held one in any state or are current or former military | No: online plus an in-person exam † | Not stated |
| Vermont | All first-time hunters; bowhunting and trapping have separate courses | Residents 18+ | Yes (in-person courses) |
Midwest
| State | Who must take it | Fully online | Free option |
|---|---|---|---|
| Illinois | Born on or after Jan 1, 1980 | 18+ | Yes (instructor-led course and field day) |
| Indiana | Born after Dec 31, 1986 | Yes, 12+ per course provider | Yes (classroom course) |
| Iowa | Born after Jan 1, 1972 | 18+ | Yes (classroom course, usually free) |
| Kansas | Born on or after July 1, 1957, unless 15 or younger and supervised by an adult 18+ | 18+ | Yes (online course for residents) |
| Michigan | Born on or after Jan 1, 1960 | No: every format includes a field day | No (up to $10) |
| Minnesota | Born after Dec 31, 1979, age 12+, for a firearms license | 16+ (with virtual field day, $7.50 DNR fee) | Not stated |
| Missouri | Born on or after Jan 1, 1967, to hunt with firearms (exemptions apply) | 16+ | Not stated |
| Nebraska | Ages 12 to 29 hunting with a firearm or air gun | 16+ | Yes (classroom course and Hunt Safe Session) |
| North Dakota | Born after Dec 31, 1961 | No: classroom or hybrid with two in-person sessions | Yes (classroom course) |
| Ohio | First-time license buyers, any age | Yes, 12+ per course provider | Not stated |
| South Dakota | Ages 12 to 15 | 16+ | Yes (classroom course) |
| Wisconsin | Born on or after Jan 1, 1973 | 18+ | No ($10 at the field day for the free online course) |
South
| State | Who must take it | Fully online | Free option |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Born on or after Aug 1, 1977 | Yes | Yes (in-person class) |
| Arkansas | Born after 1968 | Yes | Yes (instructor-led classes) |
| Delaware | Born after Jan 1, 1967 | No: live firing required by law | Yes (live courses and field days) |
| Florida | Born on or after June 1, 1975, for a license to hunt with a firearm, bow or crossbow | No: online plus field day † | Not stated |
| Georgia | Born on or after Jan 1, 1961, for a season license | Residents | Yes (online and in-person) |
| Kentucky | Born on or after Jan 1, 1975 (under 12 may hunt with a qualified adult) | No: live fire exercise required | Not stated |
| Louisiana | Born on or after Sept 1, 1969, unless directly supervised | 16+ | Yes (in-person course, NRA online course, field day) |
| Maryland | First-time hunters, unless they held a license or hunted before July 1, 1977 | No: online (13+) plus a one-day Field Day Workshop | Not stated |
| Mississippi | Born after Jan 1, 1972 | Yes, residents 12+ per course provider | Not stated |
| North Carolina | Anyone buying a license, regardless of age | Yes | Yes (courses in all 100 counties) |
| Oklahoma | Ages 30 and younger who hunt without a mentor | Residents 10+ | Not stated |
| South Carolina | Born after June 30, 1979 | Yes ($29.95) | Yes (8-hour classroom course) |
| Tennessee | Born on or after Jan 1, 1969 | Yes, 9+ | Yes (8-hour course, NRA online course) |
| Texas | Born on or after Sept 2, 1971 | 17+ | Partly: free online course, then a $15 field course |
| Virginia | Ages 12 to 15, and anyone who hasn’t held a regular license | Residents 12+ | Yes (self-study plus class) |
| West Virginia | Born on or after Jan 1, 1975 | No: final test in person | Yes (in-person classes) |
West
| State | Who must take it | Fully online | Free option |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alaska | Only in Units 7, 13, 14, 15 and 20: born after Jan 1, 1986 and 18 or older | No: online ($19.95) plus field day | Not stated |
| Arizona | Youth 10 to 13 before a big game hunt; no adult requirement | Residents; field day optional | Yes (classes generally free, up to $8) |
| California | First-time license buyers without a certificate or a recent license from another state | No: online-only course no longer available | Not stated |
| Colorado | Born on or after Jan 1, 1949 | No; online test-out for hunters 50+ and military | No (classes up to $10) |
| Hawaii | All hunters 10 and older | Residents 10+ ($24.95) | Not stated |
| Idaho | Born on or after Jan 1, 1975 | Yes, 9+ ($38) | No (classroom $9.75) |
| Montana | Born after Jan 1, 1985 | 18+ | Yes (in-person course, 10+) |
| Nevada | Born after Jan 1, 1960 | 18+ | Not stated |
| New Mexico | Under 18 only | Yes, 9+ | Not stated |
| Oregon | Under 18 only | 18+ (adults aren’t required to take it) | Not stated |
| Utah | Born after Dec 31, 1965 | No: online plus required field day | No ($12 registration certificate) |
| Washington | Born after Jan 1, 1972 | No: hybrid with Field Skills Evaluation | Not stated |
| Wyoming | Born after Jan 1, 1966, to hunt without a mentor | No: hybrid with Internet Completion Course | Not stated |
Age limits for the online-only course
| Online-only from | States |
|---|---|
| No age limit stated by the agency | Alabama, Arkansas, North Carolina, South Carolina; Arizona and Georgia for residents |
| 9 to 12 | Idaho (9), New Mexico (9), Tennessee (9), Hawaii (10, residents), Oklahoma (10, residents), New York (11, residents), Pennsylvania (11, residents), Virginia (12, residents); Indiana, Mississippi and Ohio (12, per course provider) |
| 16 | Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, South Dakota |
| 17 | Texas |
| 18 | Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Vermont (residents), Wisconsin |
| Not available | Alaska, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida †, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Dakota, Rhode Island †, Utah, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming |
If you’re under the online age limit, the hybrid route is usually open to you: Iowa, for example, lets students aged 11 to 17 take the online course and then a field day (Iowa DNR).
What it costs
The course is the main cost, and the in-person route is free in many states. Online courses are sold by approved private providers; the state agency lists them and often their prices. Examples from the agency pages:
| State | Cost stated by the agency | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Alaska | $19.95 online course, then a field day | ADF&G |
| Arkansas | $19.99 (military), $29.99, $34.95 or $49.95 online; instructor-led classes free | AGFC |
| Colorado | $34.95 online since Jan 1, 2025, plus a conclusion class up to $10; classroom course up to $10 | CPW |
| Idaho | $38 online; $9.75 instructor-led | IDFG |
| Louisiana | Free NRA course, $34.95 or $49.95 online; in-person course and field day free | LDWF |
| Minnesota | $7.50 DNR fee after the online course | Minnesota DNR |
| Nebraska | $39.50 or $40 online; classroom course and Hunt Safe Session free | Nebraska Game and Parks |
| Ohio | $24.95 online, $49.95 interactive online | Ohio DNR |
| Texas | $15 classroom course or field course; online-only fee paid to the provider | TPWD |
| Utah | $12 Hunter Education Registration Certificate ($17 nonresident), valid 365 days | Utah DWR |
| Wisconsin | $0 online course plus $10 at the field day for students under 18 | Wisconsin DNR |
Interactive courses, usually around $50, cover the same material as the standard courses with more video and scenarios. New York’s agency notes that all its approved online courses cover the same material with different delivery methods (NYSDEC).
Hunting before you finish: apprentice licenses and deferrals
Many states have a way to try hunting before you take the course, as long as a licensed adult is with you. Examples we checked:
- Arkansas: a free Deferred Hunter Education code for hunters 16 and older, who must hunt with a licensed hunter 21 or older (AGFC).
- Kansas: an apprentice license for hunters 16 and older defers the course twice while you hunt with a licensed adult (KDWP).
- Washington: the Hunter Education Deferral Program exempts qualifying hunters for one year (WDFW).
- Florida: hunters born on or after June 1, 1975 can get a special authorization to hunt under the supervision of a licensed hunter 21 or older (F.S. 379.3581).
- Mississippi: hunters aged 12 to 15 may hunt without a certificate with a licensed or exempt hunter 21 or older (MDWFP).
- Colorado: hunters 50 and older and military personnel can take a 30-minute online test instead of the course (CPW).
Rules that changed
| Date | State | What changed | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| April 1, 2016 | Virginia | “Full-online” course for residents 12 and older, no classroom part | Virginia DWR |
| March 20, 2022 | Wisconsin | All-online option ended for students under 18; 18 and older can still use it | Wisconsin DNR, March 1, 2022 |
| January 1, 2025 | Colorado | Online course and test-out exam priced at $34.95 | CPW |
| Date not stated | California | Online-only course “no longer available”; hybrid and traditional courses remain | CDFW |
Wisconsin had opened its all-online course to all ages temporarily during COVID-19 (Wisconsin DNR). Older forum posts and course pages may still describe routes like this, so check the agency page in the table above before you pay for a course.
Using your card in another state
Hunter education cards issued by a state are generally accepted in the other states. Alaska says its certification is for life and recognized by all states, Canadian provinces and Mexico (ADF&G), and Massachusetts accepts a government-issued certificate from any jurisdiction (Mass.gov). Two cautions:
- Online-only certificates. Vermont advises hunters who took the online course to make sure the state they plan to hunt in accepts online hunter education (Vermont Fish and Wildlife). Oregon also encourages adults to take the course because other states may require it (ODFW).
- Bowhunting. Some states require a separate bowhunter course. Pennsylvania notes that its basic course may not be accepted where an archery-specific certificate is required (Pennsylvania Game Commission).
If you also go out on the water, the same pattern applies to boats: most states want a boater education card, not a license. See our overview of boater safety course rules by state.
How we built this table
We collected each state’s rule from its wildlife agency, then checked all 50 states ourselves on September 25, 2026: 45 on the agency’s own page, and Florida, Kentucky, Maryland, Rhode Island and Tennessee, where the agency site was blocked or unavailable, in the state law or regulation or in the agency’s official hunting regulations guide. Our checks corrected four entries (Kansas, Maryland, New York, Wyoming). Florida and Rhode Island are marked † where only the course provider describes the online format. Where an age limit for the online course comes only from the approved course provider, the table says so. Like our Certification Cost Index, every row links to its source, and we update the table when a state changes its rules. The full dataset, with the source for each field, is kept on file.
Frequently asked questions
Can you take a hunter safety course online?
Yes, in every state you can do at least the classroom part online. In 32 states the online course alone can earn the certificate for at least some students; in the other 18 you finish with an in-person field day, range day or test.
Is the online hunter safety course free?
Sometimes. Louisiana lists a free NRA online course, Kansas offers a free online course to residents 18 and older, and New Jersey’s online course is free. About half the states list free classes. Paid online courses we saw cost roughly $20 to $50.
How long does a hunter safety course take?
Online courses take several hours. Nebraska’s take 6 to 8 hours online (Nebraska Game and Parks), and Wisconsin’s online part of the field day route takes 4 to 6 hours plus a 6 to 8 hour field day (Wisconsin DNR).
Do adults need hunter education?
It depends on your birth year and state. Many states cover everyone born after a cutoff year, such as Colorado (1949) or Illinois (1980). New Mexico and Oregon require it only for hunters under 18, and South Dakota only for ages 12 to 15.
Does a hunter education certificate expire?
The states that say so issue it for life, for example Alaska and Louisiana. Keep the card or your certificate number, since you may need it again when you buy a license in another state.
Can I hunt before I finish the course?
In many states, yes: an apprentice license or a deferral lets you hunt for a limited time with a licensed mentor. Arkansas, Kansas, Washington and Florida are examples in the section above.
How we checked these facts. Every rule links to the state wildlife agency or the state law, checked on September 25, 2026. Course prices come from the state agency’s page. Certificate Quest is not affiliated with any state agency or course provider and earns nothing from links on this page.